A Heartwarming Experience

Mr Dahale with the completed Ganesha painting.

Sharing a heartwarming experience during my recent trip to Nashik-India, when I was busy looking after my mom who had undergone Total knee replacement surgery. 

Of the many people who came to visit my mom after her surgery, there was a lady who wished to speak with me too. She asked me if I could complete a painting!

This particular painting was started by her husband a few years ago but due to a stroke which left him paralyzed, he was not able to give it the final touches and complete it. 

I felt greatly honoured because this painting belonged to Mr Nandkishore Shankar Dahale, a fine arts teacher with over 30+ years of art experience. My mom had told me that she often used to show him my works and that he was very appreciative of it. I had also personally met him a few years ago when I had taken my daughter to him to help her learn a few tips from the well-known teaching artist.

Completing his painting was a task that I took out of deep respect for this elderly gentleman who has been a very talented and dedicated artist himself. 

Teaching at the prestigious ’Saane Guruji Vidyamandir’ in Mumbai and decorated as an ‘Adarsh Shikshak’ amongst many other felicitations, Mr Dahale was also seen as a respected Judge to many art competitions including the reputed ‘Mumbai Sarvajanik Ganapati Mandals’. Some of his beautiful paintings also adorn the walls of the Gao Devi Mandir in Santacruz, Mumbai. 

When I went over to his place the next day, I had no idea what to expect. As I entered the living room, I was met with a frail looking man on a wheelchair who once was full of life, robust and a handsome retiree. He was delighted to see me and though I was moved to see him in that state, I also felt very happy to see him after a really long time. 

Before entering the living room of his home, I had noticed a beautiful Ganesha artwork in the entrance hallway. 

His young son took down the very same painting and Mrs Dahale asked me if I noticed anything missing in the painting. After carefully looking at it for a few seconds I pointed out that the thumb of upper left hand of Ganesha was missing. It so happened that it was that very thing that was bothering Mr Dahale the most. He could not speak clearly but could move his left hand and nodded his head to confirm the same. 

I was told that he had expressed his desire that whenever I come I should be asked to complete his painting and once he knew I was in town, he wanted me to finish it. 

As I knew that he liked my work and over the years had kept a tab on my progress as an artist, I felt it my bounden duty to help him out and complete his unfinished work. 

Once I brought the painting home, I poured my heart over it. I could totally understand his anguish every time he saw the unfinished artwork of Lord Ganesha, and while it is a difficult task to complete another artist’s work, I was able to complete it after spending a few hours over the next 2/3 days. 

Before – Mr Dahale’s beautiful unfinished painting and After – Completion by self

I was slightly apprehensive when I went to show him the completed painting but the expression of sheer joy and delight on his face on seeing the painting, is one that I will never forget and forever treasure in my heart. His shining eyes and thumbs up gesture with his unaffected left hand touched me and I welled up inside. 

After taking his blessings and putting the frame up on its rightful wall, I left with a feeling of happiness and satisfaction like I have never felt before. 

I was joyfully surprised that a painting could evoke such a response from an individual. 

With Mr and Mrs Dahale

I have always loved what I do and now love it even more! I’m utterly grateful to the Almighty for having blessed me with this form of art expression where I can share my passion and bring happiness to people’s life.

To see my artworks please visit – https://aartibartake.com

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mukti says:

    This is such a beautiful write up. You are a superlative artist and an even better human being Aarti. Lots and lots of love and blessings 🤗

    Like

Leave a comment